Blake Young Wins at MMP

Blake_Young_2Blake Young and Josh Hayes put on a fantastic show during the AMA Superbike race at Miller Motorsports Park. Hayes and Hayden swapped spots more than 10 times throughout a thrilling race in Utah, but in the end, it was Young who took home the win.

“From the beginning of the race I just tried to find a comfortable pace and hit my marks,” Young said. “Hayes was running a little faster than I was comfortable with, so I kept chasing him and then tried to settle back down into my pace. Then I decided to just put my head down and push all the way through. I wanted to leave it all on the track.

Young would end up winning by .7 seconds, but that doesn’t show how close the race actually was. Hayes was awarded a point at the end of the race, but he would have preferred the race win.

“It was just good racing,” Hayes said. “Neither one of us wanted to give up. On the last lap, he was definitely running well… the back kicked out on me and all of sudden I went from trying to figure out how to win the race, to trying to keep Tommy behind me.”

At the end of the race, both riders complimented each other on being aggressive, but safe, throughout the race.

“I feel very comfortable riding with these guys,” said Young. “They’re both racing veterans and they know what they’re doing out there.”

Tommy Hayden nearly took the second place spot from Hayes on the final lap. Hayes would finish .05 seconds behind the 2010 champion.

Hayes, Hayden, and Young, have taken every race win so far this season. The three top riders will go at it again in just four days when the AMA Superbike riders head to Elkhart, Wisconsin, for the Road America event.

AMA Superbike Race Results

  1. Young
  2. Hayes
  3. Hayden
  4. R. Hayden
  5. Rapp
  6. Clark
  7. May
  8. Bostrom
  9. Anthony
  10. Toye

Courtesy of

World Superbike: Race Results From Race 2 at Monza

Laverty_Does_the_DoubleEugene Laverty has done the double. Laverty won his first career World Superbike race this morning around the Italian circuit, and now the Irish rider has claimed victory number two.

Laverty’s victory came after a controversial drive-thru penalty was given to Max Biaggi. Biaggi was leading by more than 5 seconds at the time of the penalty. It is the second time this season that Biaggi has missed out on big points due to a rule violation.

With Max Biaggi out of the running, Eugene Laverty and his teammate Marco Melandri engaged in an intense struggle at the front. Melandri led for the majority of the race, but a last lap mistake gave Laverty just enough room to squeeze by for the win.

The third place battle was equally intense, as Michel Fabrizio and Noriyuki Haga fought for the final spot on the podium. Fabrizio came out on top, beating Haga by .1 seconds.

Max Biaggi eventually recovered to score an 8th place finish, two spots ahead of Carlos Checa, who was able to maintain the season lead after two mediocre finishes at Monza.

Checa leads the series with 145, followed by Melandri with 118 and Biaggi with 117. Laverty’s double puts him into fifth place with 85 points behind Jonathan Rea with 89.

World Superbike – Race 2 Results – Monza

  1. Eugene Laverty
  2. Marco Melandri
  3. Michel Fabrizio
  4. Noriyuki Haga
  5. Troy Corser
  6. Ayrton Badovini
  7. Sylvain Guintoli
  8. Max Biaggi
  9. Joan Lascorz
  10. Carlos Checa

Courtesy of

World Supersport: Race Results From Monza

Chaz_Davies_wins_in_monzaThe Yamaha ParkinGo team claimed another World Supersport win today, as Chaz Davies took his second win of the season. Davies raced to his second consecutive race win ahead of his teammate, Luca Scassa.

Davies and Scassa have taken every race win so far. Scassa took the first two while Davies claimed race wins at the last two world supersport races. Davies and Scassa are now tied in the points with 70 each.

Behind the Yamaha duo, Fabien Foret rode a lonely race to third. Foret finished 7 seconds behind the Yamaha team and 11 seconds ahead of the fourth place finish, Broc Parkes.

World Supersport Race Results – Monza

  1. Chaz Davies
  2. Luca Scassa
  3. Fabien Foret
  4. Broc Parkes
  5. Sam Lowes
  6. Roberto Tamburini
  7. Florian Marino
  8. David Salom
  9. Massimo Roccoli
  10. Ondrej Jezek

Courtesy of

World Superbike: Race 1 Results From Monza

eugene_laverty_monzaIt was a good day for the Irishman at the Italian track. Eugene Laverty claimed his maiden World Superbike victory today, beating out Max Biaggi and Leon Haslam.

Laverty would be challenged by Biaggi at the beginning of the race, but the Yamaha rider would eventually pull away to take the win by more than two seconds.

Laverty got off to a good start, and battled with Biaggi throughout the first half of the race. Biaggi had the advantage heading down the long straights, but Laverty was able to reclaim some track during the turns.

The stare down between the two riders lasted until there were 7 laps remaining. Biaggi blinked and made a mistake, giving Laverty some much needed space up top. Biaggi would be able to recover to claim second place, but his chance for the race win was gone.

Behind the top two riders, Leon Haslam and Marco Melandri battled for third. But in the end it was the BMW that climbed up to the podium.

Season leader Carlos Checa was able to limit the damage done by Biaggi’s second place finish by claiming a top 10 finish of his own. Checa was able to claim 9th place today, an improvement from what he showed during qualifying.

World Superbike – Race Results – Monza

  1. Eugene Laverty (Yamaha World Superbike Team) 31’09.584
  2. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team) 31’11.159
  3. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) 31’12.662
  4. Marco Melandri (Yamaha World Superbike Team) 31’12.839
  5. Michel Fabrizio (Team Suzuki Alstare) 31’21.396
  6. Jonathan Rea (Castrol Honda) 31’21.955
  7. Troy Corser (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) 31’22.864
  8. Leon Camier (Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team) 31’27.003
  9. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) 31’27.153
  10. Jakub Smrz (Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing) 31’28.004

Courtesy of

King Kiyo Captures Race 1 Win at Oulton Park

hopkins-oulton_parkRyuichi Kiyonari claimed his first win of the 2011 British Superbike season today, riding his HM Plant Honda to victory by more than 4 seconds ahead of John Hopkins, who became the first American to podium in the BSB.

“I am very happy, especially as it had been very difficult here to find a good setting for the race,” Kiyonari said. “Everyone in the team has worked very hard, me too as I wanted to push harder. They worked late into the night after qualifying to solve the problems we had so it was good work and I want the same in race two.”

Kiyonari claimed the speedy fastest lap award while climbing his way through the pack, eventually overtaking John Laverty on the 11th lap.

Laverty would fall a few more places as Hopkins and Stuart Easton were determined to make it to the podium. Hopkins eventually climbed to the second step, and became the first American to podium in a British Superbike race.

“That was a really good race; the guys in the Samsung Crescent Racing team have worked really hard to give me a great bike again this weekend,” Hopkins said. “To come here to a track like this, which was never going to be easy, and be so competitive is just so good for us.”

Kiyonari’s teammate, Shane Byrne, took fourth place ahead of Laverty.

British Superbike Race Results – Oulton Park

  1. Ryuichi Kiyonari
  2. John Hopkins +4.150s
  3. Stuart Easton +4.336s
  4. Shane Byrne +4.646s
  5. Michael Laverty +4.684s
  6. Josh Brookes +5.105s
  7. Jon Kirkham +13.582s
  8. Loris Baz +16.637s
  9. Gary Mason +19.108s
  10. Dan Linfoot +19.452s

Courtesy of