The 44th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix

Written by J.C. Current, Courtesy of

Macau Grand Prix Poster The Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix has a sort of shadow following; the people who know of the event do their best to get there, or at least try to watch it, and the ones that don’t simply reply ‘huh?’ when asked about it. This is the nature of a ‘real roads’ race held on what many would call the far side of the planet: Macau, China. Since it was left out of any points earning series, the only riders who attended were those who could afford it (or barely afford it), often driven by the pure desire to race, and some professional racers who could earn a purse for participating. One part of this will change at this, the 44th running of the Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix to be held on 18 – 21 November. As of 2010, the race is now a part of the Duke Road Race Rankings.

The Duke system has been around for nine years and is the only series which creates a points race for real roads racing. The Macau Grand Prix now joins the other prestigious points-earning events: Isle of Man TT, North West 200, and the Ulster Grand Prix. The Macau addition was made official back in February making it 26 races in all for the series.

This means that many of the riders we see take to the tarmac in those mostly European races will also be seen on the Guia circuit of Macau. And, it means that the competition there will be even fiercer as racers are working for points and a Championship. Fortunate readers will see Stuart Easton, Keith Amor, Cameron Donald, Michael Rutter, Martin Jessop, John McGuinness, Rico Penzkofer, Mark Miller, Jeremy Toye and local racers Joao Fernandes, Sou Sio Hong, and Ip Weng Keong all riding their very best on those dangerous lanes.

Macau is a beautiful place with influences both European (it was once a Portuguese colony) and Chinese. The food is incredible, the shopping interesting, and the gambling industry there has finally come into the 21st century, so there is much to distract any visitor. Hopefully, the riders can stay focused on the course. Given the newfound importance of this event, and the fact that most consider it extremely tough and challenging, they had better concentrate hard. Macau is likely to change the face of the Duke Road Racing Rankings and the important fight to clench the Championship.

Tomasz Gollob Wins FIM Speedway Grand Prix Championship

Written by J.C. Current, Courtesy of

FIM Speedway Grand Prix logo It has been 37 years since a citizen of Poland has won the FIM Speedway Grand Prix World Championship; that was Jerzy Sczcakiel back in 1973. At the FIM Nice Italian Speedway Grand Prix at Terenzano on 25 September, Tomasz Gollob, at age 39, tasted victory and with it became the 2010 SGP World Champion and the first Polish Champion of the 21st Century. To say that Gollob was elated at his victory would be gross understatement. With the pressure he was under by being a star athlete in his home country, it was also a great relief.

It took Gollob all of 20 years to achieve this goal. With hard work from him and his large contingent of supporters – including crew, sponsors, family and friends – he was able to pull together the points to put him in a good position even before traveling to Italy. Then it was the fortunes of his competitors and the unpredictability of racing which put him over the top. During the second semi, Gollob’s primary threat in the points race, Jaroslaw Hampel, was defeated by Chris Harris and that limited Hampel’s points from the event to only 10. Gollob did not let that give him any peace, though, as he kept up FIM SGP Champion Tomasz Gollob his pace throughout the meet to grab the Italian SGP first place trophy for the second consecutive year by out-riding Harris, Greg Hancock and Nicki Pedersen. It was a memorable evening of racing for fans and racers alike.

The SGP has one race remaining and, interestingly enough, it is the Bydgoszcz Speedway Grand Prix of Poland, which is to be held on 9 October. Gollob is certain to receive a hero’s homecoming and you can expect great racing even if the Championship is already decided. Tomasz Gollob, reigning SGP World Champion, returns home for the final race of the 2010 season…and the crowd goes wild!