AMA Daytona Sportbike Results: DiSalvo Takes Provisional Pole

Jason_DiSalvoThe AMA Daytona Sportbike season has finally begun, and Jason DiSalvo is leading the way. DiSalvo took the provisional pole today at the Daytona International Speedway, beating out Jake Zemke and Jake Holden.

DiSalvo set a 1’51.422 lap time today at the first qualifying session for the Daytona Sportbike riders, beating out Zemke by more than a half of a second. Holden finished nearly a second behind the lap setter on a cold morning in Florida.

Danny Eslick took the fourth place spot, before PJ Jacobsen brought the third Ducati across the line in fifth.

A pair of Kawasakis, riden by JD Beach and Fernando Amantini, came across the line next, before Josh Herrin, Dane Westby, and Tommy Aquino rounded out the top 10.

As the day heats up, so will the lap times. The Sportbike riders will take to the Daytona track for the second qualifying session later today.

2011 AMA Daytona Sportbike Results – Qualifying 1 – Daytona

  1. Jason DiSalvo
  2. Jake Zeke
  3. Jake Holden
  4. Danny Eslick
  5. PJ Jacobsen
  6. JD Beach
  7. Fernando Amantini
  8. Josh Herrin
  9. Dane Westby
  10. Tommy Aquino

Courtesy of