Jason DiSalvo Wins the Daytona 200

Daytona_200_WinnersIt was a crazy race at the 2011 Daytona 200. But after multiple red flags, numerous crashes, and a delay of a few hours, Jason DiSalvo won the 70th running of the Daytona 200, giving Ducati their first victory at the historic race.

The race was red flagged on lap 27 after a few riders were having trouble with their front tires. All the riders were brought into the pits for a mandatory tire change. The delay was lengthened when Dunlop decided that all riders would need new tires.

The delay was welcomed by DiSalvo and his Ducati crew, who almost had to forfeit the race after engine issues. But with the lengthy delay, the Ducati crew went to work to get DiSalvo back on the track.

“It’s really unbelievable,” DiSalvo said. “My crew works so hard. Getting that bike to start on time and to just rock. It really just hasn’t sunk in yet.”

The Ducati team had to replace the engine entirely before DiSalvo was able to get back on the track. But with a new motor, DiSalvo set out to claim Ducati’s first ever Daytona 200 win.

When the race was restarted, the riders set out on a 15 lap sprint to finish the Daytona 200.

Throughout the second part of the Daytona 200, there were close to 10 riders riding within a second of one another. At the end, the top five riders were separated by .34 seconds.

Corey West looked like he was going to claim the Daytona 200 win, but a determined DiSalvo charged from the back to steal the win by .03 seconds.

Jake Zemke was able to hold off JD Beach for the final spot on the podium. Zemke, along with DiSalvo and West, were very impressed with the rookies performance.

“I want to commend JD Beach,” Zemke said. “For a rookie kid coming in here. He did a fantastic job. I just wanted to congratulate JD for doing a great job out there.”

The Daytona 200 started at 1:15 today. It ended close to 6. But the excitement of the final sprint made it all worth it.

Daytona 200 Results

  1. Jason DiSalvo
  2. Cory West
  3. Jake Zemke
  4. JD Beach
  5. Josh Herrin
  6. Dane Westby
  7. Taylor Knapp
  8. Tommy Aquino
  9. Bostjan Skubic
  10. Fernando Amantini

Courtesy of AllAboutBikes.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s