Puerta Wins First Race of 2011 AMA Supersport Season

AMA_Supersport_Race_1Tomas Puerta has just won the first race of the 2011 AMA Pro Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport series, and he did it in convincing fashion.

Puerta led each of the 10 laps during today’s race, and claimed the season’s inaugural victory by more than 7 seconds.

“I’m really happy about this one,” Puerta said. “Last year I was trying to make points, but this year I think I want to try to be the champion.”

Stefano Mesa and David Faviria finished in second and third, making it an all Columbian podium at Daytona.

“It’s all Columbians,” Mesa joked. “I guess Columbia is good at racing.”

Benny Solis was the final rider in the hunt for the podium, but missed the final step by .04 seconds.

Behind Solis, there was another 7 second gap before Dustin Dominuez crossed the line ahead of Elena Myers and James Rispoli.

Eric Stump, Ricky Parker, and Hayden Gillim rounded out the top 10.

AMA Pro Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport Series – Race 1 Results – Daytona

  1. Tomas Puerta
  2. Stefano Mesa
  3. David Gaviria
  4. Benny Solis
  5. Dustin Dominguez
  6. Elena Myers
  7. James Rispoli
  8. Eric Stump
  9. Ricky Parker
  10. Hayden Gillim

Courtesy of AllAboutBikes.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s