5 Different Bikes Top 2010 WSBK Series

There were 7 manufacturers participating in the 2010 World Superbike series this year, and each one wanted a piece of the podium. The five top spots in the World Superbike series were held by five different manufacturers. Aprilia, Suzuki, Ducati, Honda, and Yamaha all had extremely competitive bikes this year.

Aprilia – The RSV4aprilia_RSV4

If anyone has anything to brag about this season, it’s Aprilia. Not only did Aprilia help Max Biaggi become the first Italian to win the World Superbike series, but they did it in only two years.

The RSV4 first entered the World Superbike series in 2009, and had a fantastic debut season, as Biaggi and Aprilia were able to capture 4th place. In 2010, the Aprilia team entered the season knowing that they had a competent bike. Biaggi and the team had worked out most of the kinks in the 2009 season, and when the flags came down in 2010, there was no stopping the Italians.

Biaggi captured 14 podiums aboard the RSV4 in 2010, 10 of which were wins, and ended up winning the championship by a dominant 75 points.

gsx-r1000 Suzuki – GSXR-1000

Thanks to the GSXR-1000, Suzuki had two riders in the top ten this year. Leon Haslam finished second, while Sylvain Guintoli took 7th in the overall standings. Suzuki racked up 412 points to finish in third in the manufacturer standings behind Ducati and Aprilia.

The GSXR-1000 has been in the Suzuki family for quite some time, and will be for a while to come. The bike has proven it’s worth over and over, and the Suzuki team will be gunning for the top spot next year. Suzuki will only running 1 rider in 2011, but with the GSXR-1000 and Michel Fabrizio, Suzuki will still have a chance at the title.

Ducati – Ducati 1198 ducati_1198

The Ducati team took the second place spot in the overall manufacturer standings. Ducati had four riders in the top ten. Carlos Checa was the highest ranked Ducati man, riding the 1198 into third place behind Haslam and Biaggi. The 1198 also helped Noriyuki Haga, Michel Fabrizio, and Shane Byrne claim the 6th, 8th, and 10th place spots.

Ducati will be cutting back it’s lineup next year, as there will only be 4 riders aboard Ducati bikes in 2011, as opposed to the 6 that rode in 2010.

cbr1000rr Honda – CBR1000RR

Jonathan Rea was a strong contender during the 2010 season, but an injury forced him to miss a few races as he had to undergo surgery. Rea was still able to capture four wins this season despite his injury.

Rea will be returning with the Ten Kate Honda Team next year, and if he can stay healthy, he could find himself on the final podium.

The Honda team will also be cutting back their lineup next year, and will only put two riders on the CBR1000RR. Rea, and former BMW rider Ruben Xaus will try to bring the World Superbike title back to Honda next year.

Yamaha – YZF-R1 Yamaha-YZF-R1

The highest ranking Yamaha was ridden by Cal Crutchlow. Crutchlow took 6 pole positions this year, 10 podiums, and three wins aboard the YZF-R1. The Yamaha Sterligarda team will have to do without Crutchlow next year, as he will be moving on to the MotoGP series. In his place, Eugene Laverty, who finished second in the World Supersport series this year, and Marco Melandri will test their luck on the YZF-R1.

The 2010 World Superbike season saw 7 manufacturers, 5 of which ended up in the top 5. In 2011, the same 7 manufacturers will return, and it’s bound to be an equally diverse podium.

Written by Dan Evon, Courtesy of AllAboutBikes.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s