King Kiyo Crowned the 2010 British Superbike Champion

Written by Dan Evon, Courtesy of

bsb_kiyonari_champion There was no stopping Ryuichi Kiyonari today at Oulton Park. King Kiyo won back to back to back races this weekend to claim the 2010 British Superbike Championship.

Kiyonari had gained the lead in the British Superbike standings after winning race two, where Tommy Hill dropped down into third place after crashing twice in the second race. It was Kiyonari’s championship title to lose in race three, but the HM Plant Honda rider didn’t give anyone a chance of taking it away.

Josh Brookes did his best to challenge the HM Plant Honda rider, and at the end of the race it was a two man showdown for the race win. But Kiyonari never let Brookes take the lead, and finished .7 seconds ahead of his fellow title contender.

Brookes’ second place finish secured his second place spot in the overall standings. Tommy Hill, who didn’t earn any points during race two, had to settle for third. Hill crashed twice during the second race, the second crash drawing the red flag and doing some damage to his bike. Hill’s Worx Suzuki team did a great job getting his bike ready for the final race, but it wasn’t enough to land Hill back on the podium.

Michael Rutter was nearly able to secure his fourth place finish on the overall leader board, but a mechanical error put him on the grass, and he walked away from the final race of the season without any points. The DNF opened the door for Michael Laverty, who with his fourth place finish, earned just enough points to move ahead of Rutter on the overall leaderboard.

Alasair Seeley also gained some points on Rutter, but it wasn’t enough to overtake him, and the Relentless Suzuki rider had to settle for sixth place.

British Superbike – Oulton Park – Race 3 Results

1. Ryuichi Kiyonari JPN HM Plant Honda
2. Josh Brookes AUS HM Plant Honda
3. James Ellison GBR Swan Honda
4. Michael Laverty GBR Relentless by TAS Suzuki
5. Tommy Hill GBR Worx Crescent Suzuk
6. Loris Baz FRA Motorpoint Yamaha
7. Alastair Seeley GBR Relentless by TAS Suzuki
8. John Laverty GBR Buildbase Kawasaki
9. Chris Walker GBR SMT Honda
10. Dan Linfoot GBR Motorpoint Yamaha

British Superbike Final Standings

Ryuichi Kiyonari
Josh Brookes
Tommy Hill
Michael Laverty
Michael Rutter
Alastair Seeley

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s